Cameras, toilet bowls and patience.

What am I right now?  A tourist, an American? an English fish, slapping her fin on the sidewalks of San Fransisco?  How do I share my life with you…and why?  Can I come clean?  I have no idea what the purpose is of my blog; is it travel log or life log?  I ask myself, if I do not deliver adventurous prose then why would my musings tip your curiosity to click on a link to this womans life?

I have re-learnt a lesson this week, one that haunts me at times.  Patience pays.   Three days ago I was walking past my bathroom whilst attempting to open my camera case, in the few nano seconds it took to traverse this tiny space within my studio the camera rocketed out of its snug and straight into the loo.  Grateful I was in between water saving flushes (if its yellow let it mellow, if it’s brown…well, you know the rest) I scooped it out pronto, agonised for a second about germs and whether I should wash it (but then figuring there are more germs on a human’s lips than gather on the toilet seat – makes you think twice about kissing…. but since the horizon is seemingly devoid of all hope of that for me right now….ah!, more about that later) I wiped the germs away (?) and, with a prayer, turned it on.  Now, in the past the power of prayer has granted me many, many, many, many, many things, but this day either God was on vacation or he was still smarting from the ear-bashing I’ve been giving him about being single and wanting to be a professional writer and my hopes for finding a remedy for an evil corn on my toe that has me vexed (yes…I will pray for anything!),  anyway, it didn’t bloody work.  Not to allow myself to come crashing down in the belief my Maker (would that be a capital M?) had deserted me and trying to be rational, I thought, ‘actually, it will probably dry out and work perfectly in the morning’…….  It didn’t.  Crap. Crap. Crap.  I was without means of visual aid to my memoir!  I couldn’t just snap a picture and hope you’d be able to see what I was seeing (a way of having you along with me, like a puppy in my purse).  My bag was lighter for sure but I thought….God, I’d have to use my power of words to paint a picture for you.  Challenging, but what did we do before the invention of the camera?

Courtesy of Wikipeadia (I LOVE the Internet!!!!), I uncovered a chronology spanning centuries.  From the 4th Century BC, Chinese and Greek philosophers were discussing principles of optics and the camera.  Then a HUGE gap ensued (they were probably mulling it over or fighting or inventing tofu or something) before Mr Newton looked into a pretty prism and found lots of pretty colours inside white light in 1664.  Other stuff happened, blah, blah, blah…then, in 1814 a guy called Joseph Niepce achieves the first photo image with a camera obscura, it develops in super quick time and only takes 8 hours of exposure to light to make a pic (I wonder what is was..maybe his dog or of his car…you know what men are like!), anyway..the image was only temporary.  Now, the advancements were gaining momentum, like a snowball down a slope and in only 23 years, the ideas baton got passed to Mr Daguerr and the light exposure time decreased to 30 mins and the pics of  beloved…… beer tankards… or whatever did not fade.  Three years later an American dude got a patent for the first camera, then in Philadelphia the creation of photo marketing was born and then lots of stuff happened..yadda, yadda, before Mr Eastman invented Kodachrome (sorry my extensive research …5 mins, I have a low attention span, did not uncover why it was names Kodak) as the world rushed towards the end of the 1800’s and the Brownie was put on sale in 1900.  You can, Read more: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_history_of_the_camera#ixzz168j7iDE7

Gosh, why all that info….Well, it interested me for half an hour and passed the time to make me feel like I actually had something to do; other than super fun, volunteer work and going on a disastrous date (hmm, I guess practice makes perfect)…..but also, it made me realise something, what we do in life may not have an apparent use or our ideas may not become as fruitful as we hope but, maybe, over time, they may become part of something bigger and many cool and interested people may take the baton and run with it for a bit.  Perhaps technology or ideas for change always follow the pattern of a gathering momentum before they start to become reality to which there does not appear to be an end.

Digression over (!!!), if you are still with me?  I wanted to tell you the end of this little story…after only three days, a miracle occurred and my camera started to work again!  For the bried interlude sans the time capturing device, I drew a little picture.  Here it is…  😉    

Serendipity also delivered to my inbox this message, I thought it had a cute connection to this post and was kinda nice to read;

…that your fruit should remain… John 15:16
Elisha served others until he died. We read: ‘Elisha had become sick with the illness of which he would die. Then Joash the king of Israel came down to him [for advice].’ 2 Kings 13:14 (NKJV) On his deathbed, Elisha gave the king a strategy for defeating his enemies. So, you can lift others even when you yourself are down. You can feel like a hypocrite because things aren’t so great in your own life, yet still minister to them. The truth is, when you reach out in love to someone else it takes the focus off you, your discouragement lifts, and it works for your good. Elisha’s impact continued after he died. One day ‘…Elijah said to Elisha, “…what can I do for you…?” [He replied] “Let me inherit a double portion of your spirit”…’ (2 Kings 2:9 NIV). Elijah, his mentor, performed seven major miracles recorded in Scripture. When he died, Elisha had performed only thirteen. Did God fail to grant his request? No. ‘Then Elisha died, and they buried him. And the raiding bands from Moab invaded the land…So it was, as they were burying a man, that suddenly they spied a band of raiders; and they put the man in the tomb of Elisha; and when the man was let down and touched the bones of Elisha, he revived and stood on his feet’ (2 Kings 13:20-21 NKJV). Miracle fourteen; Elisha got his double portion! Jesus said, ‘…I chose…you that you should go and bear fruit, and that your fruit should remain …’ (John 15:16 NKJV). So pray, ‘Lord, give me a legacy of righteousness. Make my impact greater than my lifespan. Give me fruit that remains.’

I’d love to get a thing going on where we can share similar experiences.  Send me yours if you care to share….. xxxox

About indialeigh

I LOVE your comments...come share... x All photography published on this journal is by me, unless stated otherwise. Please do not use any of my images without contacting me first. Thank you for your understanding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cameras, toilet bowls and patience.

  1. Ah ha, found it. Great read especially as it was about camera, glad it’s now working, although looking at you little drawing i think you should keep those up. Infact it’s an excellent little drawing well done you , keep up the writing.

Leave a Reply

