Dining out

I keep a budget, a feathery idea, a dollar or pound sign floating in the either.  I live by it when I can, to prolong my travelling lifestyle…. until I’m done.  Unfortunately, this does not allow me to eat out as often as I’d like.  Swanky joints are a rare treat.

A river of curry! Sweet & Spice at Atwater VillageOn my first day in Los Angeles I decided to try out an Indian canteen situated right at the end of my street. Indian Sweet & Spice. Their menu listings go on for reams. Looking around at my fellow diners the meal combo seemed to be the most popular choice. Being a bit partial, I opted for the dosa. I peered at the glass cabinet, stacked with morsels of Indian sweets, for a few moments, before the kindly chef sang out 'Dosa, Dosa', to signal the arrival of my meal. It was served on a paper thali plate. My cutlery was plastic. Lucky for me it is all about the taste. The spicy potato filling was mashed, the texture a little odd, the spices subtle. Duo chutneys, one red one green. The tamarind was good, the coconut was bitter...almost an 'off' taste to it. I troubled with the latter no more. The sambhar (the curry gravy) was excellent. Dense with veggies and with a mother of a kick. I dallied over each mouthful. I was stuffed as I scraped the plastic fork into near unreachable corners of my paper plate. All I left was an ochre stain. My laden tummy was in no fit state for anymore food..so I ordered the samosa...yeah, against my better/slimmer judgement. It was the shape of a teepee. Taste o vision would be a boon for this pic!

 The pastry was crisp, chewy and delicious.  The filling was less so.  That weird mashed (perhaps more ‘hashed’) potato and a few lonely peas.  A watery date and tamarind chutney livened it up and I scoffed the lot.  Whilst eating myself to an uncomfortable state of stuffedness, I read one of the newspapers, stacked underneath the largest TV I have ever seen.  Statueque, over -made up Indians danced across the screen in formation.  India Abroad.  Flicking through a few things caught my eye.

Eye opening...parents rally for suitors for their 'talented, rich, successful, handsome,' children...shouldn't prove too much of a bother then!

A Jain (vegan Indian) headed for the Deutsche bank?!

Like the vast menu at Sweets and Spice life offers so many possibilities.  So much to explore in this world…I know only a mere scraping from its surface.  I get cross at myself when fear or comfort holds me back from venturing more.  I bless the Internet, its only failing is my lack of imagination.  I curse myself for every moment I let slip by not researching rare chamelions or learning a floor shaking tribal dance.  Kick myself for playing it safe when vast deserts and steamy jungles remain a 1D image in a dusty encylopedia, packed away in box somewhere waiting for my return.  I vote for 48 hour days, teleportation, and lottery wins!  Utlised, of course, with a humble respect for the planet and zero carbon footprint.  Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily, life is but a dream…

About indialeigh

I LOVE your comments...come share... x All photography published on this journal is by me, unless stated otherwise. Please do not use any of my images without contacting me first. Thank you for your understanding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

