Now follows a photographic interlude and a Rumi rumination

can you guess what it is?

Tick, tick whirr…I’m still thinking on the subject of POPULARITY (previously visited https://indialeigh.wordpress.com/2011/08/20/can-o-worms/ ) but I’ve been too busy being a tourist and meeting new people to jot it all down.

I’ve a glut of photographs of London I’ve amassed whilst flaneuring this weekend and last.

Some things that caught my beedy yeux as I walked with the Culture Seekers London in Pimlico.  The area was brainchild of the Grosvenors (who were trying to cash in on the success of Belgravia by naming it South Belgravia and laying the streets in exactly the same grid pattern….it never really managed to do it justice) and a property man called Cubitt, who put on a nice little extension for her Maj the Queen at Buckingham Palace and whose great, great, great grand-daughter may just get the Deeds to with her green-fingered hubbie, Charles one day.

 

A golden eagle in a church next to where Lady Diana Spencer worked as a nursery nurse

 

 

why are churches full of gargoyles, mythical dogs and lions? No wonder I was often in fits of nervous giggles alongside my brother, what with scary depictions, talks of hell and worst of all the rath of our Dad, who definitely didn't approve of giggling 7 year old heathens

A quiet stretch of the Thames near Vauxhall bridge. There is a tiny boat moored up here where the locals drink coffee, chat and read the papers. Far from the maddening crowd.

Jaw-droppingly good - The Press Photographer Year exhibition at the National Theatre - http://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/66470/exhibitions/the-press-photographers-year-2011.html

 

I joined up with the culture seekers again and visited Down House, the home of Charles Darwin.  http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/home-of-charles-darwin-down-house/

I learnt some interesting facts about him I hadn’t previously known.  He lived here for 40 years with his wife Emma (who happened to also be his cousin) a member of the Wedgewood family.  She was his cousin and they married after he’d returned from his explorations onboard the Beagle that took him around the world gathering his samples and building up his ideas.  I found it charming that he wrote a pros and cons list to the idea of marriage when he was on the last leg of his trip.  I LOVE lists – endlessly valuable….   Back in the day, Victorian men usually had minimal contact with their children, Charles was an exception to the rule and loved playing with his kids.  He even built then a long wooden board that acted as a fun slide down their tall staircase.  Charles was a bit of a bum in academic sense and started out on many scholastic roads only to become bored.  It was when he was aboard the Beagle that he began to see what he must do with his life.  Apart from ill-health due to (unconfirmed) a bug bite, he lived a very happy life, pottering, pondering and playing billiards with his butler.  Good for you Charley boy!

Down House

 

Apparently he sported a number of facial hair styles before settling on the 'ZZ Top' look

 

A letter still siting in its rack. One of thousand he received each year. The post came 4 times a day then and was as close to the iPhone as he got.

 

perhaps a descendant from one of the specimens Darwin collected on his voyage. He was absorbed n his studies so much he endured 5 years of sea sickness to find evidence for his ideas! A brave man, it was all I could stand to go from Rosslare to Cork on a boat....OMG, brutal!

 

The sun reaches into his hothouse

 

I thought I’d leave you with a poem I was sent in response to the beginning of my POPULARITY studies.  I wonder what you think/feel as you read this.

A Community of the Spirit

There is a community of the spirit.
Join it, and feel the delight
of walking in the noisy street
and being the noise.

Drink all your passion,
and be a disgrace.

Close both eyes
to see with the other eye.

Open your hands,
if you want to be held.

Sit down in the circle.

Quit acting like a wolf, and feel
the shepherd’s love filling you.

At night,   your beloved wanders.
Don’t accept consolations.

Close your  mouth against food.
Taste the lover’s mouth in yours.

You moan, “She left me.” “He left me.”
Twenty more will come.

Be empty of  worrying.
Think of who created thought!

Why do you stay in prison

when the door is so wide open?

Move outside the tangle of fear-thinking.
Live in silence.
Flow down and down in always
widening rings of being.

 

From Rumi – Selected Poems (Penguin Classics)

Translated                by Coleman Barks with John Moyne

I believe I am doing all these things (apart from closing my mouth to food…hello!!?).  I’ve just not found the circle.   Perhaps I am just circinate greedy!

About indialeigh

I LOVE your comments...come share... x All photography published on this journal is by me, unless stated otherwise. Please do not use any of my images without contacting me first. Thank you for your understanding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

