Pina – The Movie

PINA was showing at the Sundance Kabuki Theatre, in San Francisco, and a friend invited me along to watch.  I had no idea it was shot in 3D  until a guy, sitting behind a desk at the theatre entrance, handed me a pair of heavy, black rimmed glasses.  They’ve evolved somewhat since my first encounter with the flimsy and ineffectual paper kind, we had years ago!

When the film began I literally could not believe my eyes!  The figures were coming out of the screen and boldly walking right into the cinema space.  Wow!  I had a flashback to the days when I had the notion that little people trailed out the back of the TV at the close of the night (yes, young people… TV did once stop at midnight..and even before that when it launched), after they’d put up the static screen of the girl and the creepy clown (wtf, was that all about?  A hideously macabre final shot to go to bed with  – only UK viewers will know what I am talking about).  The 3D was thrlling, I had to stop myself from audibly sharing my amazement with the whole cinema!

The film is shot in studios and various (stunning) locations around Wuppertal, Germany (a linear city, owing to its many steep slopes), where Pina’s dance theatre was situated.  It is now on my ‘bucket list’ of destinations.  Just so I can ride the suspension railway.

The movie is by German director – Wim Wenders (Buena Vista Social Club).  It documents the achievements of a German dancer and coreographer.  Pina  Baush.

Philippina “Pina” Bausch [1](27 July 1940 – 30 June 2009) was a German performer of modern dance, choreographer, dance teacher and ballet director. With her unique style, a blend of movements, sounds and prominent stage sets, and with her elaborate cooperation with performers during the composition of a piece (a style now known as Tanztheater), she became a leading influence since the 1970s in the world of modern dance. [2 Wikipedia

Pina died just two days before the film was to begin shooting.  But, the cast convinced Wenders to go ahead with the making of the documentary. 

I found it hypnotic and extremely powerful.  My words will not do the movie justice.  The music is sublime and the imagery was expertly coregraphed.  You will see a dance performed on a layer of soil and overlayed with the sound of drums that, to me, were quite literally, drumming the raw emotion into my body.  Unglaublich!

Surprisingly, the dancers were not young, most had been with Pina for many years, though their bodies had the definition of youth and they exuded an ageless passion.  As they spoke of her they all seemed to say that Pina, not only had directed their movements but, in part, their lives. 

The film was out last year in the UK and is showing in various locations in the USA. Google your area  and GO SEE.  It is a visual and musical banquet!

 http://www.wim-wenders.com/movies/movies_spec/pina/pina.htm

https://www.sundancecinemas.com/kabuki.html   A gorgeous theare space.  The seats are super comfy and the rock back and forth..!  How great is that?!

About indialeigh

I LOVE your comments...come share... x All photography published on this journal is by me, unless stated otherwise. Please do not use any of my images without contacting me first. Thank you for your understanding.
This entry was posted in Arts, city life, Culture, Dance Theatre, Events, Fun & Free things to do in the City, life stories, single in San Francisco and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

